Uninsured Motorist Accident Lawyers in Fort Lauderdale

Even though Florida is a no-fault state, Florida law requires all drivers to have bodily injury liability insurance to cover injuries they cause. Despite this, many Florida drivers continue to drive without the proper insurance. Even worse, some of them cause accidents and leave the victims with limited financial resources.

Being involved in an accident is scary; it can be even worse if you suffer injuries and do not know how to pay for them. An uninsured motorist accident lawyer knows the complications that come with an accident, especially when the other driver does not have insurance. Call Farmer, Jaffe, Weissing, Edwards, Fistos & Lehrman, P.L. in Fort Lauderdale to explore your legal options: 954-524-2820.

How common are uninsured motorists in Florida?

It is against the law to drive without insurance, yet many people continue to do so. In fact, according to the Insurance Research Council, nearly 24 percent of Florida drivers were uninsured in 2012.

In many cases, these drivers do not have insurance because they could not afford it. This becomes a major issue if they cause an accident with severe injuries.

What options do I have to pay for my injuries?

Because Florida is a no-fault state, regardless of whether or not you caused the accident, you must first turn to your own insurance to cover your injuries and lost wages.

The state of Florida requires drivers to have at least $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) insurance.

This can be a big help; however, no-fault insurance does not cover everything.

Firstly, PIP only covers 80 percent of your medical costs and 60 percent of your lost wages.

Also, many injuries can quickly exceed the $10,000 limit. In most cases, if you suffer a serious injury that exceeds the limits of your PIP policy, you would be able to file a claim against the other driver.

However, if the other driver in your accident behaved irresponsibly and drove without insurance, you will be left to cover your own injuries.

CAUTION: You must see a doctor and file a claim within 14 days of your accident to be able to recover PIP benefits. If you do not file a claim within 14 days, you give up your rights to recover any compensation.

Many cases result in damages in excess of the PIP coverage limit. PIP coverage will also not typically cover pain and suffering and other non-monetary damages.

Do I have any other options?

If you opted to purchase uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage, you can use that coverage to cover the rest of your injury costs.

Uninsured or underinsured motorist insurance (UM/UIM) will require your insurance company to cover you if you are involved in an accident with a driver who lacks bodily injury insurance or does not have enough coverage.

In the state of Florida, drivers are not required to have UM insurance and will have the option to reject it, so this means you need to check your policy to make sure you have it. Our attorneys know how confusing auto policies can be. We will examine your policy to get a better idea of your options.

The limits of your UM policy will match your bodily injury policy.

Statute of Limitations

Florida law requires accident victims to bring their UM/UIM claims within five years of the date of the accident.

Notifying Your Insurer

UM policies often require you to notify your insurer of a potential uninsured claim within a certain number of days. For some insurers, your deadline is only 30 days.

When filing a UM/UIM claim against your insurer, the first step will be determining whether you have UM or UIM coverage. It is important to note that full coverage does not mean you have UM/UIM coverage.

Once you have filed your claim, there will be an investigation regarding your claim. You will need to submit evidence including medical records, witness depositions, and police reports.

Because your insurer is a business, it will be more interested in protecting its bottom line than it will be protecting you. It may lowball your claim or deny your claim for a multitude of unfair or illegal reasons, known as bad faith.

Our attorneys have over 150 years of combined experience helping injured victims fight against the tricks insurance companies use. We will help you file your claim, gather the necessary evidence, and defend against any accusations your insurance has made.

If your insurer has acted in bad faith, we can build a case and hold it accountable for its actions.

Call a Fort Lauderdale Uninsured Motorist Accident Lawyer for Help

It is hard to describe what injury victims and their families go through in the days and weeks following an accident. Their difficulties will increase significantly if the accident involved a negligent, uninsured driver.

You should not pay the price for someone else’s bad judgment. The attorneys at Farmer, Jaffe, Weissing, Edwards, Fistos & Lehrman, P.L are here to help you recover the compensation you deserve.

Call us for a free consultation today: 954-524-2820.